Psychology PAC is the political action committee (PAC) of the American Psychological Association Practice Organization (APAPO). Created in May 2012, Psychology PAC is dedicated to supporting candidates for the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives who have demonstrated their commitment to psychology and psychologists.

Supporting congressional candidates is crucial for the success of APAPO's legislative advocacy strategy. Other key legislative activities include direct lobbying on Capitol Hill and grassroots psychologists' engagement with their members of Congress.

Psychology PAC is part of the APA Practice Organization located in Washington. APAPO is devoted to advancing and defending the practice of psychology. In 2005 APAPO created the Education Advocacy Trust, which is dedicated to advocating education in psychology.

Psychology PAC focuses intensely on addressing practitioners' and educators’ concerns, such as reimbursement for psychological services, inappropriate barriers to psychologists’ scope of practice and funding for psychology education. Our PAC demonstrates that psychology supports those candidates for congressional office who stand for the profession.

2017 Psychology PAC Management Team

Jennifer Johnson 
Director, Psychology PAC 

Katherine Nordal, PhD 
Psychology PAC Chair

Jim Diaz-Granados, PhD 
Psychology PAC Vice Chair

Karen Studwell, JD 
AED, Education Government Relations

Doug Walter, JD 
AED, APAPO Government Relations

2017 Advisory Committee

Dr. Kevin Arnold, PhDKevin Arnold, PhD (Ohio)

Dr. Sharon Berry, PhDSharon Berry, PhD (Minn.)

Dr. Lindsey Buckman, PsyDLindsey Buckman, PsyD (Ariz.)

Mrs. Sally CameronSally Cameron (N.C.)

Dr. Ronald Fox, PhDRonald Fox, PhD (D.C.)

Dr. Gilbert Newman, PhDGilbert Newman, PhD (Calif.)

Dr. Derek Phillips, PsyDDerek Phillips, PsyD (Fla.)

Dr. Peter Sheras, PhDPeter Sheras, PhD (Va.)

If you have any questions, please email Jennifer Johnson, director, Psychology PAC.